I’m not sorry.

Self care. Don’t care.

Hello lovely humans,

So, yesterday in true procrastination style. I painted my nails. At work. I know, rebel at another level. *sarcasm*

Im not trying to make excuses buuuut I’m not sorry? I do soo much overtime (this is probably why) that I didn’t even think about the repercussions in painting my nails at work. I mean, I planned it. Why else would I have nail polish in my bag? So in the workplace I did something I never do… Self care! Shock horror.

It turns out it actually was a horror for some of my colleagues. Because my hands are always so shakey from a variety of anti depressants and anxiety medications. So… I’m not very good at painting my nails – well not very good to the naked eye. Because I think they look delightful and a piece of art. I will call it “A Colleagues Nightmare“. Again, not sorry. I’m proud I was able to get some paint on some nail. I did get a few comments like “are you painting your nails or your skin?” But whatever. Worth it.

What does shock me though is this stigma behind selfcare. For a lot of people, selfcare and self love is somehow seen as arrogance. You need to love yourself.  In my opinion, someone has probably said something to them in regards to selfcare/self love and so the vicious cycle of ass holeness continues. So let me ask you.

When’s the last time you openly did self care?

What do you do to selfcare?

Its so important. Yes, we’re taught at a young age to “take care of ourselves” but somehow it gets left out that it actually takes more than getting a good 8 hours sleep (if you can actually do that) and eating fruit.

"The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody."
“The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.”

3. Hands actually really freak me out. I broke my wrist at quite a young age and lost partial feeling in three of my fingers on my left hand. So it’s really strange to me that I can move it, but I can’t feel it. Also, they look weird. So do feet. So. Weird. Just look at them and tell me they aren’t strange. Do it.

Leave a Reply

